Rotary awards scholarships, lauds state champion girl’s golf team

On Wednesday, May 19, the Bonners Ferry Rotary Club recognized recipients of the 2021 scholarships. Students, their families and Rotarians enjoyed a delicious Ice Cream Social hosted by the Kootenai River Inn.

Ron Sukenik spoke about Rotary and a video of various projects and events played throughout the evening.

A total of $9,000 was awarded this year. The grand total of scholarships given out by the Bonners Ferry Rotary Club since 2002 is $152,300. Money for these scholarships is generated through various fundraising events and donations.

The 2021 scholarships were awarded to the following students:

  • Bailey Owens, second year recipient, Medicine Man Pharmacy Rotary Scholarship
  • Lily Blackmore, Kootenai River Inn Rotary Scholarship
  • Tyler Lucas, Accurate Collision Rotary Scholarship
  • Paisley Schulte, Oxford Inc Rotary Scholarship
  • Marianne Pinkerton, Idaho Forest Group Rotary Scholarship
  • Morgan Swanson, Century 21 Four Seasons Rotary Scholarship
  • Regina Chaphan, Lions Club Marjorie Pinkerton Memorial Rotary Scholarship
  • Victoria Rae, second year recipient, BF Rotary Scholarship
  • Anna Bliss, BF Rotary Scholarship
  • Kylie Underhill, BF Rotary Scholarship

Each recipient was asked to tell a little about their interests and future plans. Certificates were handed out by Rotary Assistant District Governor Dave Walter and Bonners Ferry Rotary President Ron Campbell.

Rotary’s 2021 DYW candidate Sierra Petesch was introduced.

Avid golfer Dave Walter recognized the members of the Badger girls golf team for winning their first ever Idaho State 3A Championship.

The Idaho 2021 State 3A Championship Girl’s Golf Team: coach Ralph Lotspeich, Bonners Ferry Badgers Braylyn Bayer, Avery Bayer, Lily Blackmore, Cali Iacolucci and Mia Blackmore, and assistant coach David Koon.